COVER REVEAL: When You Were Mine

I’m very excited to reveal the gorgeous cover of my first book, When You Were Mine!

When You Were Mine is the story of Maggie and Ibby, two best friends raising their teenage daughter Amelia together in an unusual but happy family. But their settled lives are thrown into turmoil when a face from the past – troubled rock star Jordan Nash – reappears in their lives and long-buried secrets rise to the surface. The blurb is given below.

Life is a love song when you find the right notes

Maggie and Ibby make up a happy – if unconventional – family. After meeting at university, they now live in the village of Applecroft on the beautiful West Country coast.

Okay, so Ibby’s gay and prone todisastrous dates, while couples’ counsellor Maggie spends her days helpingpeople with their relationship problems despite having no sex life of her own.Nevertheless, they’re devoted to bringing up teenage daughter Amelia – theresult of a drunken one-night stand when they were students – in a stable andloving family.

Until a face from the past – in theform of hard-partying rock star Jordan Nash – disrupts their quiet lives. AsJordan struggles with his personal demons and old secrets are revealed, canMaggie and Ibby stay strong? Or will bringing back the past threaten all thatthey’ve built in the present?

A feel good, heart-warming novel about about first loves and second chances. Fans of Holly Martin, Dani Atkins and Heidi Swain will be captivated.

Lisa Swift is the pseudonym for bestselling women’s fiction novelist, Mary Jayne Baker.

Two-book deal with Hera Books announced

Hera are delighted to announce that they have agreed a two-book deal with Lisa Swift, the bestselling romantic fiction novelist who also writes under the name Mary Jayne Baker. Lisa’s first book, When You Were Mine,  a heart warming, romantic and utterly captivating read about Maggie, Ibby and Jordan Nash, the globally famous rock star who crashes back into their lives, will be published by Hera in August, with her second book coming out early 2020. World English rights, including audio, were acquired from Laura Longrigg at MBA Literary Agency.  

Publishing Director at Hera, Keshini Naidoo, said of the deal:

‘I’ve long been an admirer of Lisa’s writing – effortless, charming and always featuring the funniest dialogue, her romcoms are some of the best in the genre. I was absolutely thrilled to read When You Were Mine on submission and am even more excited to be publishing it – full of kind, complex characters, a beautifully realised setting and an incredibly engaging plot, this is the kind of fiction that reminds us that romance is not just boy meets girl, and that love and family are things that we can all create for ourselves. Plus, there’s an ice-cream van that sells books – what’s not to like?! I can’t wait for readers to fall in love with Ibby, Maggie and Jordan this summer.’

Lisa Swift said: ‘I’m absolutely delighted to be joining Hera for my first novel as Lisa Swift. I’ve loved working with Keshini and the Hera team to bring When You Were Mine to readers, and feel very lucky to have such a wonderful group of professionals championing my book. I hope readers will adore this story and characters as much as I do!’

Laura Longrigg said: ‘It’s a great pleasure to be working with Keshini and Lindsey and we are very excited about Hera’s plans for Lisa Swift!’